"Laura" Flogging Molly cover dedicated to Laura Lemons

This is a cover song by Flogging Molly that I would like to dedicate to Laura Lemons. Laura was a very active and influential member of the Steemit community who just recently took her own life. This is a very rough, impromptu version of the song, but I felt compelled to play it. I just wanted to make a gesture to those that knew and loved her.

I didn't really know Laura, but her somehow, her life and death both made a big impact on me. I haven't played this song for years, so in the video, I'm following the lyrics and chords on my laptop.

I just met Laura online in May here on Steemit and have followed her blog pretty closely ever since. She was a very bright, incredibly gifted artist and writer/blogger. However, sometimes the most gifted artists are the most troubled. We discussed depression and health problems in a few of each other's posts. I found her very relatable and enjoyed her cynical, yet playful sense of humor.

I have seen discussions of a memorial fund of sorts from many of her friends. I will happily donate any earnings from this post toward mental health awareness or any other arrangement if something of the sort is organized. To her friends: please let me know if I can be of help. Rest In Peace Laura. I hope you are no longer in pain.

Lyrics:

Feel the words from my lips,
To your hearts fingertip,
And you know were I come from,
Cause I know, yes I know,
Everything there is to know,
Cause I've lost everything I've had
See I,
I could have danced on the sun,
But my world came undone
Laura
There's no need for tears,
Cause there's no need to cry,
A love that you leave
Shall never be denied,
A pain in my head,
Escaped from my heart,
No woman alive could touch what you were
So bye bye Laura,
There's no one to take your place,
Bye bye Laura,
Your beauty will never fade,
They'll say that's your song,
And reach for the sky,
The river is gone,
And everyone cried,
And after the song,
A spirit lives on,
Though your not around,
You'll never be gone,
So bye bye Laura,
There's no one to take your place,
Bye bye Laura,

Here's the original version of the song, which is beautiful

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center