Calling all Drummers and Musicians on Steemit! - Need feedback for video

Hey Steemit!

As I mentioned some time ago in a previous post of mine, I'm in the process of recording a Jazz Drums Masterclass video that I plan on sharing for free only for you guys on Steemit.

19417403_10154708997956938_2767797839334046885_o.jpg

It's going to take a lot of time and effort to do, from the recording/filming to the editing and human time invested.

Here's my previous post on that.

I'm aiming to create a video with lots of tips and information for the drummer that wants to start on digging and studying Jazz music, but I'm also looking to provide other musicians with some useful concepts and material that apply to music and not only to drums.

I'm planning to invite a couple of incredible musicians and friends to play on the video, and to talk about the importance of every instrument in this music.

I want to also address things like what does the pianist / double bassist expect and like from the drummer in different situations, as well as the opposite, what does the drummer expect from the other members of the combo, or how do we / should we react to their ideas.

The video will be in Spanish with English subtitles, and will be professionally recorded at some venue where a grand piano is available.

17918058_10154548328216274_531337135832378526_o.jpg

As detailed in the other post, what I'll be covering drum-wise will be :

In a smaller amount of time :

  • Technique for both hands (traditional grip / matched grip)
  • Bassdrum technique / Feathering
  • HiHat technique / Splash and sound for swing
  • Swing technique on the ride and hihat.
  • Comping exercises and concepts.

In a larger amount of time :

  • Understanding the Blues and Standard form
  • Developing language on the drumset
  • What to listen to, who to listen to. When to play, when to comp.
  • Improvisation exercises, DROP concept (Mark Guiliana).
  • Moving on to modern jazz and grooves.

I need your feedback!

In order to make it interesting not only for drummers, but for musicians in general, I'd like to ask you to comment with some topics you find interesting or intriguing about Jazz drumming, Jazz music, or drumming in general, and I will do my best to cover them in the video.

I'm really looking forward to reading your inputs on this!

Matumenar.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now