Live and Drunk and the Great Dean Martin

I've always been a fan of older music...phonograph-2254165_640.jpg

Even when I was a little kid growing up in the 1990s I would rather listen to 40s through 60s music.

The following song is one of my all time favorites by Dean Martin where he showcases his wonderful voice but also some of his comedic personality. Dean Martin was known to perform on stage doing a drunk routine and normally was seen holding a drink of what looked like alcohol (But was usually apple juice or something non-alcoholic). His children have reported that he never actually went on stage drunk and acting drunk was just part of the show. The song is called "Live and Drunk." In it Dean Martin sings but is also pretending to be drunk and makes jokes.

I've always loved Martin's voice. I own a few old records of his music. His voice is like nothing you hear today. The Rat Pack era of music had talents such as Dean's, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr, and many more. It was a time when people's natural voices and talent were what brought them fame. Today with technology any person can be made to sound good on tape. A lot of musicians today don't even have naturally good singing voices and are edited with things like auto tune to sound good. I miss the good old days of music when singers became famous for actually having talent. I'd rather listen to Dean Martin over the Justin Bieber's and Miley Cyrus's of today anytime.

Any other Dean Martin fans? What's your favorite music?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center