My HIPHOP Producing Journey and how I found Native Instruments Maschine....by MB

Hey whats up Steemit community, ever wondered what it takes to be music producer? Well I wish I had a straight answer because I am still trying to find out lol. Well my journey so far, goes as follows, I started producing music from the the age of around 15 years old, I believe my first ever computer was a Pentium lol.... running Cubase AV..yep something prehistoric to that effect. I partnered with a good friend in 1999 and we eventually built a small setup which included a proteus 2000, Akai 3000XL etc... we used to make House & Garage beats before I eventually got heavy into hip hop production. Fast fwd 10 years and it was 2009, during this time I had built my own setup, managed several studios and generally crafting my skills in the field of beat production. 2009 was a major milestone year in terms of getting people to hear what I was creating and making new connections within the industry...welcome... MYSPACE!!!! Yep it became apparent that having music on a digital platform was going to be a thing of the future, so like everyone else before me, I signed up and joined. The next few years would see me enter into a whole new social territory, meeting new people I would have never met, ALL on the strength of the internet and its social powers. I basically made links with DJ'S and artist by sending them samples of my work, not all were easy to access but once I had an email address for my target, I sent what I could. Talent will go unrecognised if not seen or heard and by saying that I mean its best to get to know people in the industry, that means attending events or even taking part in the event, the internet is a great tool but not the only way forward.
Fast forward to 2011.... All producers go through a phase when ideas are just not flowing the way you want, its called "producers block" and yes I went through it, frustrated times of searching for new sounds and new angles to get creative. I bought an Akai MPC 2500 due to the drum pad feature. I convinced myself the Mpc was all i needed to get things right lol..hmmm I struggled with sync and latency with the mpc2500 and just couldn't find my desired workflow, nevertheless I still released an instrumental CD entitled "Back2Basics" with beats made entirely on the console. http://piff.me/8354b67
I eventually sold my MPC with eyes on a bigger prize..Enter..."MASCHINE!!!"
A company by the name of Native Instruments released a Vlog about the 1.6 MK1 Maschine Drum sequencer, I was blown away. After watching several youtube clips of what it could actually do, a new goal was set "BUY NOW"...LOL.
3 MONTHS locked away in my studio learning this beast of a machine and "MachineBaby" was born, a new updated producer, the rebirth..hence the word "baby" added to the name.
Ever since then, I've managed to gain a little recognition on my journey.
I produced a song called "Gossip" by Fekky featuring Giggs which was featured in the film Brotherhood https://itunes.apple.com/gb/movie/brotherhood/id1142927577
I also produced a song called Mad Ting Sad Ting by Fekky and SectionBoyz https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/mad-ting-sad-ting-feat-section-boyz-single/id1172226036
Look out for new material I'm featured on soon
Aug 4th : Fekky Album "Elclasico" https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/el-clasico/id1238662720 (x6 tracks produced by MachineBaby).
Any how thanks for reading and join me again in my next post where I talk about different ways to create revenue as a producer, my tried and tested and the unexplored.
Thanks again
MachineBaby (MB)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now