Love Songs from the Early 60s

I was listening to a playlist tonight set on Shuffle. So YouTube doesn't play the videos (songs in this case) in the order that the Author of the playlist set up. Instead it picks the videos/songs randomly. It can and does repeat songs on occasion. Tonight it picked a meaningful song to me, twice.

So it needed to be blogged about!

The song is Baby Blue by a New York band called The Echoes, from 1960. Wikipedia here says it spent 12 weeks in the Billboard Top 100, so I guess it was rather popular. I didn't hear it when it came out, that was too long ago. But I did hear it in the 90s on Oldie radio stations.

The song is a love song about a blue eyed girl. Her blue eyes are bluer than the skies. I have a girl in mind whenever I hear this song, so I'm sending this sweet guitar and vocals tune out to her. But she may be too far away to hear it.

Here is another band from New York called The Schoolboys. The song is Please Say You Want Me. It is from 1955 or 56, and they actually were in School at the time. Apparently the singer was just 14.

This is a slow passionate love song. He really wants her to say that she wants him to be his love. It's pretty dramatic for a teem love song but it's another tune that reminds me of the blue eyed girl. So here it is.

It is still amazing to me that you can find just about any song ever recorded on YouTube. There has been no time in history when anyone had access to such a large selection of music. Good times.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now