You never heard the "hotel california" solo played like THIS [video inside]

divider1.png

After I finished recording, I listened to the solo again.. and thought to myself... "hey man, this is not half bad........."
I drifted off, fantasizing about myself being a lead guitarist with the Eagles. Holy moly! Would that ever be a dream come true.

R E W I N D .

The first time I 'learned' music was in this music institute in Toronto about a decade ago. My instructor played the intro solo of "I know A Little" by Lynyrd Skynyrd, and I was amazed at the technical and melodic artistry behind that solo. He told me that we'd take things step by step and that he'd teach me how to play it.

Come next session, about a week later, I walk into 'class' with most of the solo under my belt! Now, I'm no Steve Gaines, but I was sure close enough. Especially for my instructor, who was dumbfounded by my speed at learning.

Devotion, baby.

Rather than considering my pace, he insisted we stay on that same solo for a few weeks.

No can do, Sir!

F A S T - F O R E W A R D .

A few years later, I found myself giving guitar lessons to students interested in playing lead guitar. Rather than boring them, I gave them exciting lessons and challenges, homework assignments and accommodated their pace.

Y'really can't effectively teach a person the exact same lesson to another person. That is why life is the best teacher out there. The most valuable lessons are ones customized to the student's individual pace and preferred 'style' of learning.

divider1.png

♡ Thanks for chiming in. ♡

UPDATE @kurakira asked a good question in the comments:
"Did you write the solo or just improvised in front of the camera ?"

Answer: I improvised the second half! Anything that's not the original solo was improvised. I didn't jump on this track without practice though, it's on my backing track playlist, so I've improvised on it a few times before recording. Thanks for your question @kurakira, show the man some love! :)

Please upvote if you've enjoyed today's post, resteem if you're a musician, and comment to show some love!

Steem4.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now