When the suns out, I get out and play SKA!

I’m a musician and a DJ. I just love performing and have been in some fantastic bands. When I haven’t got an outlet to do this I’ll take old Ska music onto the streets.

Dalston Kingsland and Ridley Rd Mkt has a strong Jamaican community and they love their music, and playing ska reggae is always welcome, even the station master puts in requests “007” being his favourite so I love going down there.
210F638A-434D-4A0C-888F-E47095A8FD46.jpeg
It’s actually risky playing anything else, A few years ago I was hanging out in Gillett Sq, it was sunny and a polish drinker in a ski jacket and red cheeks asked if I could play Bryan Adams Summer Of ‘69, so I got on YouTube and started the track. After the second chorus the man was happy, sipping his tin of beer, but then a local Jamaican came up and warned me that if I didn’t change the music there would be trouble.
Sharkey and Major dancing in the square
69E7FCBA-6A2F-490B-AA06-3A0441D1CC5B.jpeg
and here is a link to a mixcloud mix I did to represent the occasion

https://www.mixcloud.com/jamespeanutbutter/1960s-ska-reggae-mix-lets-gone-down-dalston-21-tracks-of-rare-ska-by-james-pb-aka-peanuts/

I also wrote, created and mixed a music track about these days, it’s called Live It Up!

That’s all for the moment, I look forward to the next post

😁

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now