ALBUM REVIEW // Compton-- Dr. Dre

DrDre-compton.jpg

dr-dre-compton-2015-dutch-r2-back-cover-215066.jpg

Compton is the legendary Dr. Dre's 3rd studio album and music inspired by the film "Straight Outta Compton", the biopic about the Hip Hop group N.W.A. Released on August 7, 2015 on Apple Music and iTunes Stores and physical copies were released to stores on August 21. It is a very anticipated album from Dr. Dre, who dropped his last album in 1999, more than 15 years earlier.

Track Listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Talk About It (featuring King Mez & Justus)
  3. Genocide (featuring Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
  4. It's All On Me (featuring Justus & BJ The Chicago Kid)
  5. All In A Day's Work (featuring Anderson .Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
  6. Darkside/Gone (featuring King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
  7. Loose Cannons (featuring Xzibit, Cold 187um & Sly Paper)
  8. Issues (featuring Ice Cube, Anderson .Paak & Dem Jointz)
  9. Deep Water (featuring Kendrick Lamar, Justus & Anderson .Paak)
  10. One Shot One Kill (featuring Jon Connor & Snoop Dogg)
  11. Just Another Day (featuring The Game & Asia Bryant)
  12. For The Love Of Money (featuring Jill Scott, Jon Connor & Anderson .Paak)
  13. Satisfaction (featuring Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
  14. Animals (featuring Anderson .Paak)
  15. Medicine Man (featuring Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson .Paak)
  16. Talking To My Diary

As soon as I heard about Dre having a new album that was coming out, I constantly checked up on most websites to see if it had a release date yet. When it finally released, I went to every store I could just to get myself a copy. I collect CDs and this was one I just had to have. Without a doubt.

Songs That Stand Out:
(I would have included links with theses songs, but I could not find any videos of the songs on YouTube)

#5 All In A Day's Work. Featuring Anderson .Paak & Marsha Ambrosius. Produced
by DJ Khalil and DJ Dahi.
Definitely my favorite song on the entire album. If you have an incredible work ethic I'm damn sure you'll enjoy this song. If you've had a bad day at work, and you're feeling a little down, play this and see if it don't make you better. Fuck what happened at work, get that money. At one point in the song you hear chains rattling in rhythm to the beat and a strong raspy
voice sing about getting back to work. Extremely motivational. I play it almost every day.

#6 Darkside/Gone. Featuring King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius and Kendrick Lamar.
Produced by Best Kept Secret, Dr. Dre & D.R.U.G.S. Beats. I love the way this song begins, that whole "I ain't neva been the one
that'll pull the gun on ya, BUT I KNOW WHO GOT 'EM", that shit is dope. It instantly made me want to hear more. Then almost out of nowhere the beat drops and you hear Eazy-E's voice say "Eazy-E, CPT, OG From The Otha Side" and then the beat changes altogether, as if the song had changed. 2 beats, one song. Very well put together.

#11 Just Another Day. Featuring The Game and Asia Bryant. Produced by
Trevor Lawrence, Jr and Theron Freemster.
For this one, it was the beat that got me. As soon as that beat hit, I was like, daaaaaamn. That's that shit. On top of that I'm a big Game fan. Straight up Compton shit. Ridin' around to this one is the right thing to do.

#14 Animals. Featuring Anderson .Paak. Produced by DJ Premier and BMB
SpaceKid.
I am a huge fan of DJ Premier, so a collaboration with Dre and Premier, I like it before I hear it. Anderson .Paak really brings his soulful side out on this one. You really feel what he's talking about and the emotion you can hear in his voice adds more meaning behind his words. Good one to ride around to and just cruise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center