Album Review #137: The Doors (The Doors)

THE DOORS
1967-ELEKTRA
Produced By PAUL A ROTHCHILD

  1. Break On Through (To The Other Side)
  2. Soul Kitchen
  3. The Crystal Ship
  4. Twentieth Century Fox
  5. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)
  6. Light My Fire
  7. Back Door Man
  8. I Looked At You
  9. End Of The Night
  10. Take It As It Comes
  11. The End

Ah, The Doors. There was a time when I could listen to this band any time. Then, once every six months was a reminder of how burned out I got on them. Maybe it was the whole 80's revival, or maybe it's just that Jim Morrison got on my nerves. Either way, I couldn't go there very often. And now, I can enjoy them as before without being bored at all.

Their debut album is undeniably very good. Even with Morrison's shortcomings as a vocalist, the rest of the band is strong. Instrumentally, songs like "Light My Fire" and "Soul Kitchen" are excellent, and Morrison makes "The End" something magical. His voice can grate, but in this band, it turned out he was the perfect fit. Later versions of this have Morrison's obscenities on "The End" intact, if you need to hear them.

This is album #137 in an ongoing series.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now