How Vinyl Records Are Made.

Thomas Pawlak of Palos Verdes Estates votes for vinyl:

Digital is more convenient, but if I really want to "hear" the music, I will play a record every time.

Vinyl records simply sound better. I have songs in both digital (CD) and analog (vinyl). If I play the same song in one format, and then play the song in the other format, the vinyl format produces a bigger sound stage with more depth.

Peter Gaulke of Los Angeles credits a vinyl record for a seminal moment of father-son bonding:

I am the single dad of a special-needs 10-year-old. A year ago we had to move into a small one-bedroom apartment, and initially my son was having trouble with the adjustment.

One night I put an old Buffalo Springfield record on my turntable, turned off the lights, opened the blinds and let the moonlight in. The two of us lay down on the floor next to one another and listened to the music. He was instantly mesmerized. In the dark, we listened to the pop and crackle of the old record without moving, without talking. It was a transcendent moment for both of us.

Now, when I pick up my son from school, he'll ask me sometimes if we can listen to music in the dark. This bonding, soulful experience would never have happened with a digital delivery system. There's something about a record that affects him in a way that nothing ever has. God bless the vinyl record.

  • LA TIMES

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center