Dead Rockstar # 2

We have our March Rockstar! I tried to find a replacement...but most rockstars born in March are still alive, surprisingly.
So I justified being a week late for our next rockstar's birthday because if he were still alive, he would likely be so high, he'd forget, too. x3

Our next rockstar is Mr. Lou Reed!

Unlike many of my favorites, this talented man had a career that spanned nearly seven decades.
He was the lead guitarist, lead vocalist and main songwriter for the legendary band, The Velvet Underground.
Sadly, they were not very successful in their time...but like many examples of art, they obtained a cult following in the following years. He even had a close mentor relationship with Andy Warhol. How fucking cool!

They eventually reformed in the nineties and had way more headway...though I prefer the earlier work!

Mr. Reed was more successful when he went solo. My favorite was "Perfect Day,". It's /perfect/ (Barum SHH) for when you're having a shitty day. :3 Give it a listen. I really wanted to cover that one...but I don't have a piano quite yet. Soon!

It's rumored he cleaned up between the late seventies and early eighties, but I don't believe it, personally..It's unlikely he would of lived so long if that were true. But hey, what do I know?

When I was a boy, I worried about my voice not being good enough for audiences. But his way of sounding almost dead when he sang gave my hope and inspired me. It's continued to inspire me to this day.

He later succumbed to liver cancer on October Twenty Seventh, just six years ago. He certainly lived longer than someone with such a vibrant soul should of and for that, we were truly lucky to have him while we did.

Rest in peace, Mr. Reed. We sure miss you.
Hope you're up there in that big country club in the sky, eating hamburgers with Andy.
The next cover will be in October. See you folks then!
Thanks for listening.
See you soon.

~ C.K.M.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center