Punk Rock time for rednecks!

There is a common misconception that rednecks only listen to country / western music and you couldn't be more wrong. I think the 2nd most popular music among us country folk (it might be the first) is actually rap...well, at least among the younger population.

I was always a punk / metal guy even though I do like country and rap as well. Actually, other than DJ music, and i don't really know what to even call that, I like pretty much everything.

My name Beelzebubba comes from one of the first albums I ever purchased and it was by a fantastic non-PC group called The Dead Milkmen. Over the years I found a bunch of other punk rock bands that I liked and most of them had better singers than the Milkmen, which really isn't that difficult to accomplish. Bad Religion, and NOFX were two of my favorites and those guys have remained awesome for decades.

Lately I started working in the yard and listening to Spotify and since I don't pay for a subscription, they make the choices for me as far as what I am listening to and here are a few of my favorites that are by bands I had never heard of, but will be listening to more of in the future.

There are some people out there that would say that these guys aren't true punk rock and that is fine. It's political enough in my mind to be punk and it certainly has a punk sound to it but with a more widespread appeal. If it isn't punk to you that is fine, I categorize it as such.

Bad Cop, Bad Cop"s song "Womanarchist" has some ultra feminist overtones to it that I don't really care for but that doesn't take away from the fact that I really dig their sound. A full female band is very rare, especially in punk rock, so I'll be looking into these girls a lot more in the future.

"Fred's got slacks" by The Flatliners is one of the most energetic songs that I have heard in a while. Plus you gotta listen to it many times to really get the full grasp of the story here and I don't mind that because it just has an extremely motivating, no matter what I am doing. I was carrying the mulch with gusto when this track came on, and I must have listened to it 5 times in a row after it came on.


So that was my afternoon. There were many other songs that I liked but these were the ones that really stood out in my mind. I will continue to do gardening to punk rock, which sounds like a strange mix because if there was a list of activities that definitely are not punk rock activities, I think gardening would be near the top of said list.

If you have any punk rock bands / songs to recommend I would appreciate a heads up! I'm always looking for more material to use during gardening or maybe I will do something even more punk rock later and organize the garage.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center