Neon Insect

Neon Insect - "Glitches" on Bandcamp

So... I've been a fan of Industrial music for a while, easily over two decades.

It is incredibly rare that I find an album that makes me wish I have never heard of the subgenre... so I could listen to the album and discover what it really means to be FUCKING INDUSTRIAL all over again.

This is that album.
cover.jpg

I'm halfway though "Glitches" and I've already laced up my knee-high boots and kicked a hole through my bathroom wall in tribute. I swear this stuff makes me want to play along with a powerdrill and an angle grinder. The album feels so absolutely goddamn brutal, painfully raw, so viscerally ...powerful. There is no other option but to listen to this album as loudly as you can.

Starting off with the track 'Thoughtcrimes', the soundscape and attitude of the album is immediately set. Buckle-up, buttercup prepare to listen to the equivalent of a bloody-nose. Lyrically casting the world into a dystopic mess, 'Thoughtcrimes' is as perfect of an intro track as you could possibly want for such an in your face album.

Following 'Thoughtcrimes' we have a track titled 'L.L.t.Q.' featuring none other than Claus Larson of Leaether Strip. If track one sets the battlefield for this album, then this track is the war. There is just something to the stomping, driving beat of Industrial that I think is the main draw of the genre. No, this isn't nice music, this is drums getting beat hard, synths getting cranked up and glitched hard. This track is crafted by someone who understands the essence of Industrial, and vocalized by someone who is a godfather to the subgenre. Claus Larson proves once again that he's the master at his craft (as if there was any doubt to begin with) with this track.

landscape.jpg

Out of every track on this album, what got me, what really really got me to really fall for this album was track 8 titled 'I.D.C.' This is industrial gold. It doesn't even need any additional genre labels or names, this track is flat fantastic. This is the type of song that makes you want to go rogue, to go outlaw, to drive around with the top down looking for trouble. It is the musical equivalent of a middle finger, the type of song I would want playing if I was in the middle of a gunfight for whatever reason. If I was "The main bad guy" in a video game, this would be my final boss music. Do you know what is a great chorus in industrial music? How about "I don't care, I don't care, I don't care, FUCK YOU!" I mean...can you get any more industrial than that? Goddamn, if you listen to anything on this album, do not forget to listen to this one.

There is so much ear candy with this album. If you've heard this album once out loud, listen to it again with a good set of headphones. It is a whole new experience. The short tracks of Glitches and noise might be short in length but they are extremely well crafted and meticulously honed over. Headphones are a must for this album.

If you like aggressive music, if you like driving music, if you like music that makes you want to stomp, if you like music that gets in your head and rewires you to move, get this album. It is a goldmine of Industrial aggression.

Keep an eye out for Neon Insect on #FiltersweepCollective.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now