Mushroom Monday – Cascade Hike Part 3

Here’s the last of the mushroom pictures from the Cascades hike I took a few years ago in the fall. These were taken with my Panasonic Lumix FZ35. I’ll need to get back out on the trail to get some new images.

See more information on: Mushroom-Monday by @valth.

Here’s a nice pretty good sized Boletus mushroom. I think it maybe a King Bolete or Boletus edulis but I didn’t harvest it or make a positive identification. I’ve eaten mushrooms like this before and they were really good. The mushrooms with spongy bottoms instead of gills are really easy to identify and I don’t believe any of the them will cause much harm - but you should be careful and make a positive identification just in case.
P1010886a9aaf.jpg

Here’s another view of the mountains on the hike:
P101089039275.jpg

Here’s an even bigger Boletus. I could have filled the pantry on this trip but your not supposed to harvest them here.
P10108927f5df.jpg

I’m not sure what type of mushroom this is. It kind of looked like little ears listening to the ground.
P1010899e7112.jpg

I really don’t know what these LBM’s (little brown mushrooms) were. I wouldn’t recommend eating them they were quite small - maybe someone knows what they are. My guess is that legends of wee folk and unicorns start with the ingestion of things like these - but remember positive identification is really important, lol…
P10109005b18e.jpg


Thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center