Mexican Murals - A Beast with a Mesmerizing Look

Today I want to present a mural that I found near the corner of Av. Benjamín Franklin and Av. Nuevo León in the Condesa neighborhood, not far from I live. It is not a big picture, but certainly one that makes you want to look at it for a while... until you almost feel like it's looking right back at you.

P_20191118_150019.jpg

The image shows two faces. The one on the right is clearly a human one. There is a snake wrapped around his shoulders, flashing its fangs in its wide open mouth, as if it was striking to bite.The blank eyes of the man make it seem like he's not even looking at anything, at least not at the viewer of the painting. If anything, he could be looking at the other, more prominent face on the left, which is anything but human.

So what does it look like? Some type of cat? Certainly, its sharp teeth look very feline, and its eyes are somewhat cat-like. But it seems to be wearing a helmet or a type of headdress, with decorative (perhaps protective) plates covering its nose and the sides of its head. I'm not even sure what it reminds me of. Some demon from a Southeast Asian culture? It doesn't bear too much resemblance to precolombian art from Mexico.

P_20191118_150043.jpg

The nearby restaurant Asia Perú could be a hint. It's a crossover restaurant, and it may have something to do with the mural.

As far as the artist goes, I've actually posted about another one of their pieces here. They are known as Revost, and a quick glance at their Instagram page will show all the fantastic murals they've painted. In fact, this one is probably one of their least impressive ones. But as I said, I'm not going to chase murals, instead I'm looking forward to coming across them unwittingly, enjoying the surprise, and passing it on in one of my mural posts.

If you liked this, check out my developing series on Mexican murals:  

Please check out these great communities I'm contributing to: 


#ecotrain | What is EcoTrain | Discord Community


#tribesteemup |The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp


#team-mexico | Discord Community

Join us on Discord

#cyclefeed | Introducing CycleFeed | Discord Community


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency