Tire Mast • Mundane Art

Tire Mast • Mundane Art

tire mast 1.jpg

I photographed this totem of tires at the marina last Spring, hence, the title Tire Mast. But the truth is, I have no idea what its called! I can guess that it might be used to protect boat hulls from banging into each other or for suspending them above it to keep them off the ground. But I'm still baffled by how that could be engineered because I could only find one of these laying around the boatyard.

IMG_9223.jpg

Here is a closeup of the tires. It looks like a nice variety of treads and sizes... wouldn't want to get run over by this thing.

tire mast 2 B&W.jpg

Does anyone know how it works?

I photographed the tires with my iPhone 6S Plus.

Thank you to @kus-knee for creating the Mundane Art Contest.

Get in on the tire action at the link below.

Mundane Art Contest: Tires


U5dssCqyQ8N9j5ewV5rAaNKA8Pqykev_1680x8400.png

Thanks for the art @overkillcoin... minnows, dolphins, whales... I’m down with squid!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now