Entrepreneurship in VESIT (My Alma Mater)

19 June,2019

So for those of you don't know, VESIT is one of the many colleges of Mumbai University. I mean entering VESIT, I had only one goal, "I will not sit for placements, I am gonna be an entrepreneur." I mean I very much hated jobs, like my hate grew bigger and bigger as the years proceeded. So when placements came I didn't apply for them by not giving the application form. This was considered a heinous act by people as my classmates wanted to go for higher studies or do a job. I was like to the other kids "atleast put up a fight don't become a slave so easily".

There is a serious lack of entrepreneurship culture in VESIT. The only two startups that I know were born in VESIT were Aduera and Notemybook. Looking at both of them they are quite similar to each other. Both of them are second online bookstores. But the fact to be noted is both of them are now defunct. Maybe due to people starting them found better job opportunities. Also the business models they may have envisioned in the real life scenario, did not work well. That's all right mistakes happen or businesses fail but the fact that hurts most is the frequency of startups blooming in VESIT is not even what we can call as 'average'. I guess nobody is really looking or gaining an outside view of how things work in real life. For the situation to improve or for the startup culture to gain momentum, it is necessary that everyone answers questions which ask them what they really want to do. I am not of the opinion that doing a job is satanic or pure disgrace. But atleast don't settle for things that you may have never done if you were the last person on this Earth. Ponder on the last statement.

Farewell.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center