FILM REVIEW : LOOK BOTH WAYS

This is one of the most thrilling movies I've recently seen.

Back when I was younger, I used to be an avid moviegoer and always kept up with the newest releases. However, life got in the way and I became too busy with school, so I gradually watched them less and less.

Recently, though, I have had more free time, so I have resumed my movie-watching endeavors. The other day, I just so happened to stumble onto this absolute gem of a movie, and I did not regret my decision to watch it in the slightest.

Synopsis

Two potential scenarios are combined into one plot in the movie. The story revolves around Natalie, a young lady. As she is ready to graduate from college, Natalie has a five-year plan that includes receiving her diploma, relocating to Los Angeles with her closest friend Cara, and realizing her lifelong ambition to become an animator.

In her last weeks of college, Natalie spends some time with her close buddy Gabe.
Things get heated between them and they end of sleeping with each other.

One day Natalie and Cara go to a party and suddenly she feels sick and hurls all over the toilet. To help her feel better, Cara gives her some munchies, but she also gets her some pregnancy tests to rule out the possibility of her being pregnant.

Her future ambitions and aspirations all hinge on the outcome of this pregnancy test now.

And here is when the movie gets interesting.

And here is when the movie gets interesting. Instead of showing the test results as positive or negative and then following how it impacted her life moving forward, as we are accustomed to seeing in previous movies, they opted to depict both outcomes throughout the film.

So for the remainder of the film, we see what her life may have been like if the outcome had been both good and unfavorable. The seamless transitions between them make it simple for viewers to follow the plot without becoming lost.

In the end, whether the test was positive or negative, she ultimately realized her aspirations of becoming an animator and also found love.

My Thoughts

People who like calm romance and humour will really enjoy this film. Both the performances and the chemistry are compelling. It was well performed, and I like how, in spite of everything, she manages to realize her ambitions in the end.

I like the message the film conveys to viewers;

You will always find a way out, no matter how bad you believe your mistake is and how hopeless it seems.

There is indeed a light at the end of the tunnel

Everything that occurs was anticipated.

Nothing can keep you from your destiny.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center