Jay and Silent Bob Reboot.. actually want to see it..

I grew up in New Jersey. So maybe that's why I have a special affinity to some of the earlier Kevin Smith movies. Mallrats in particular was filmed at the mall closest to where I live, as well as a flea market that was eventually bulldozed to make way for a Loews Cineplex.

I recall, with nostalgia, the comedic and philisophical waxings of Clerks and Dogma, as well as the more serious, Chasing Amy.. I haven't seen any of Smith's later forays in writing/directing/acting, and to be honest, I thought it was a joke today when I saw that his hapless team of blunt-toking companions were making a new appearance on the big screen..


src

I have a confession to make, I'm pretty sure I didn't see Clerks 2 or Jay and Silent Bob Strike back.. those came out when Hollywood the brightly-polish, slapstick-heavy action-packed antics weren't reminiscent enough of Smith's classics to warrant doling out the ever-increasing movie ticket price, especially on a college budget.

But now it's been nearly two decades, and while this is being billed as a 'sequel' to Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back, the Jay & Silent Bob Reboot has it's typical nods to characters across the askewiniverse as fans like to call it. It is also characteristically packed with cameos old and new.

Seeing Jason Lee reprise Brodie from Mallrats, Ben Affleck return as Holden from Chasing Amy, and Matt Damon back as Loki (who I guess is back from the dead) from Dogma was enough to get me excited for this film. I see that Rosario Dawson is also returning to her character from Clerks 2 and even Shannon Elizabeth from American Pie fame has a big role to play in the movie.. which I guess mandates the cameo of Jason Biggs along side James Van Der Beek..





src

The film is not yet slated for widespread theatrical release, but Kevin Smith and hetero life partner Jason Mewes are taking the show on the road in October. Sabian Films will be screening the movie at over 600 cinemas in the US on October 15th with a video introduction by the titular duo themselves. You can buy tickets for the even here at www.rebootroadshow.com.

And if you want to see the trailer, you can check it out below.. let me see if you can spot Val Kilmer among all the other star studded cameos..


src

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now