The New Little Mermaid Trailer is Here

The Little Mermaid.jpg

I can't believe it, the movie comes out in two months and only now we get a first trailer. I both love this trailer and don't, but I mostly love it.

The best thing about it is the music, obviously. The new adaptation of the classic songs sounds pretty good, sounds like Lin-Manuel Miranda did an excellent job.

The character design in something in the middle. I would have liked Ariel's hair to be redder although I have to say that Halle Bailey singing and the new tail make up for everything. Ariel totally has the Ariel feeling. I am surprised to say that I actually liked Melissa McCarthy's Ursula. The makeup seems a bit like too much of an adaptation of the cartoon, but the look of her tentacles is brilliant. Especially the way they glow in the dark. Jonah Hauer-King looks like someone took a computer program and asked them to make a picture of what prince Eric would look like as a human, that's how similar he looks to cartoon Prince Eric. But making the animals look like regular animals was a big mistake. The fact that we don't see Flounder just comes to show that they realized that they made a bad call. Sebastian looks creepy like a regular crab. Scuttle also looks bad. Even though the voice acting sounds solid. I am split and hope that Disney will use these two months to make some changes.

Plus change some of the CGI. Some of it looks amazing, some scenes just look too dark. There are beautiful colorful scenes in this trailer that are our dreams come true. And some scenes are just too dark. Someone needs to take air brush and add some more color to some scenes. Although I do love the dark night and the drowning ship. I love how sparkly the kiss the girl scene looks like. There are some great things here. Some shoots make me super excited about this movie.

I'm going to watch this movie no matter what. It is not a perfect trailer, it is not brilliant. But it feels like it has some of that Disney princess magic that I love so much.

The Little Mermaid is set to come out on May 26, 2023.

Are you going to watch it in theaters?

Source image

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Sharing will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center