The DCEU Moves Ahead

Just when I thought that DCEU has finally got it together, I read their updates and realize that with the DCEU its one step forwards two steps back. They had the amazing Wonder Woman, the enjoyable and beautiful Aquaman and they have the promising Shazam! and the curious Joker movies.

But now I saw the preview video for Birds of Prey (and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn) and I am disappointed.

harley-quinn-bop.png

I don't like Harley Quinn's new look. I just don't. I didn't like Suicide Squad, but I did like the character design for all of the characters. Everyone looked amazing. Harley Quinn more muted more fancy look just doesn't work for me. It just doesn't really pop in my opinion. Black Canary, the Huntress, and Renee Montoya looks seemed just uninspired, almost boring. Also, looks like Harley Quinn will be changing many outfits and at least that will fun, for the female part of the audience at least. Also, when it comes to Victor Zsasz I feel like even Gotham did a better job with his look.

james-gunn-director-suicide-squad-2.jpg

Speaking of Suicide Squad it is now official that James Gunn will write and direct Suicide Squad 2. Or if the rumors are true it will be called The Suicide Squad and will not include the characters from the previous movie. Poor Gavin O'Connor was unofficially fired from the movie. It's a nasty move by WB in my opinion. Also, I think James Gunn will not do a good job. First Guardians of the Galaxy was a brilliant movie, the second was not. It felt like a hollow eco and I have a feeling that this movie will be the same. A hollow Marvel rip-off. Also, the reason that James Gunn was fired from Marvel might bite DC in the back eventually.

mattreeves.jpg

The bad news aren't over. As we guessed for a while now, Matt Reeves's The Batman will not include Ben Affleck. Sure he is not officially leaving. The movie will focus on a younger Batman, but it doesn't show good faith in Ben Affleck I think. There is hope in this case as a young detective Batman film noir movies doesn't sounds bad at all.

I don't want to talk about Wonder Woman 2. I loved the first movie, but I am not loving what I hear about this sequel. I am still hoping to be proven wrong and that it will end up as a great movie like the original. And where is the Aquaman sequel?

To me it looks like the DCEU is back to being unstable and unreliable, which is a shame after such two great hits. But don't forget that Justice League was in the middle. What a mess indeed.

Source image: 1, 2, and 3

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Resteems will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center