Mortal Kombat Trailer is Here At Last

mortalkombatmovieposter720x448.png

The new Mortal Kombat trailer is so violent – I love it.

I love Mortal Kombat. I really loved the old games, especially the first three and I liked some of the newer ones as well, though I only played them a few times at friend's places. Also, I have a warm place in my heart for the original movie. It’s just a terrible fun movie, but still fun. It had a few game accurate moments, and looks like this movie will have more than a few of them.

They are really going into the mythology here. Especially the rivalry between Sub-Zero (Joe Taslim) and Scorpion (Hiroyuki Sanada). I want to take a moment to mention that their powers look totally awesome. And Sub-Zero uses his in totally awesome ways. Now even though it seems that Cole Young (Lewis Tan) is the main character from the trailer, he was totally invented for the movie, nobody cares about him. He's not on the poster, Sub-Zero and Scorpion are. They are the true center of the movie. Plus we get to see Sonya Blade (Jessica McNamee) be awesome and narrate the trailer. She looks better than I thought she would. I am still disappointed that there is no Johnny Cage. Also, it appears that Kano (Josh Lawson) is one of the good guys. How is that possible? How can he work with Sonya? Where is the iconic rivalry? We get to see why Jax (Mehcad Brooks) needs bionic arms. Liu Kang (Ludi Lin) and Kung Lao (Max Huang) actually have their computer games powers, which is super cool. New Shang Tsung (Chin Han) looks a little underwhelming I have to say. Mileena (Sisi Stringer) looks brilliant. She even licks blood from her Sai blades, a totally game move. Although she doesn't have her sharp teeth here. Maybe they'll add that is post later. It's strange that she is here but no Kitana. The characters looks pretty cool and accurate in my opinion. A little muted though. I would have liked to have seen more popping colors, but I am still pretty happy.

The thing I am most happy about is the action. Let's face it, almost no one will watch this movie for the plot. We want to see fighting. And from all of the fatalities that we saw in this trailer, we are going to get the bloodbath that we wanted. A bloodbath spiced with powers because it is fun. The game accurate phrases and moves just add to the fun.

There is just one thing missing in this trailer and that is music. This movie better have a super cool soundtrack like the first movie. Even better, they can just keep it and remix it. It totally still holds in my opinion. It seemed like there is some rendition of the original theme song, but I want to hear more.

I have a lot of faith in this movie because James Wan is producing it. He is a better director than a producer, but this looks pretty good. I would have been excited no matter what, but I am really excited about this movie.

Mortal Kombat comes out in theaters and HBO MAX in the US on April 16, 2021.

Source image

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Sharing will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now