Annihilation Movie Review – Spoiler Free

Annihilation.jpg

Annihilation was directed and written by Alex Garland (Ex Machina) and is now out in theaters or Netflix, depends on where you live. This is the first warning sign on the movie. No global theatrical release.

I still can’t decide whether or not it was a good movie, or even if eventually I liked the movie. As a sci-fi movie I feel I feel that the idea was interesting at first, but they kept repeating it so many times that it got annoying. It’s a movie, don’t talk about it, show it. As a horror movie, this movie was great. It even gave me nightmares.

In the movie, a group of talented female scientists walk through the shimmer. A barrier that looks like a not see through, big soap bubble, that was created after an impact from outer space. This area is also slowly expanding. Everything that gets in, never comes out. Not even people. An organization hopes that this group of scientists will be able to get to the source of the shimmer, collect data and get out. But come on, it was never going to be that simple.

What lies beyond the shimmer is the perfect horror movie. Complete with really creepy visuals, some of the scariest creatures and they are very original in their aesthetics. It will be hard to stop thinking about them.

It will be easy to stop thinking about this movie. it’s really slow paced, and the ending just doesn’t pay off. I know that some people considering it an open ending, but it’s so not interesting that I didn’t even care what happened in the end, because the idea of the movie is so crystal clear. Also, this movie is so packed with characters clichés that at some point I realized I can’t remember the names of the characters, only the cliché that they are associated with.

Unless you’re into really original visuals, I can’t recommend watching it at all. As an intellectual sci-fi, it’s not that intellectual.

Image source

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Resteems will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center