The Reality Of World War I

1917.png

I am not a big fan of war movies. However, there was something about "1917" that made me want to see it. Maybe, it was simply that my significant other wanted to see it. Either way, I am glad that I did. Directed by Sam Mendes, this inside view into an impossible mission during an absolutely catastrophic war never felt so real. It was almost as if the viewer was running through the trenches during World War I with the soldiers. Each piercing rifle shot ricocheted almost forcing the audience to duck.

Once again, I am not a fan of war movies but I couldn't look away from the screen at any moment during the action, which pretty much ran all the way through the entire film. The essence of this movie put you on the battlefield with the soldiers. The brilliant photography made you realize that these soldiers weren't home. I cannot emphasize enough how you felt the realness of each moment from an inebriated soldier puking his guts out to a fight that involved strangulation. The pain of a stabbing can be felt in another scene. You could actually hear and visualize without any doubt the destruction that was taking place in the distance.

I am obviously not trying to give away too much of the movie because this is a must-see film which I am sure will be receiving some notice at the Oscars. If it doesn't, it would be a shame. The audience is taken on a journey with two young Corporals of the British army. They have to prevent an attack which could lead to many deaths by delivering a message. The fact of the matter is the enemy is sitting in wait for the attack ready to ambush the British. One of the soldiers on the mission has a personal stake in this because his brother is one of those soldiers.

Dean-Charles Chapman portrays Lance Corporal Blake. "Game Of Thrones" fans will remember Chapman as Tommen Baratheon. George MacKay portrays Lance Corporal Schofield, the lucky soldier that Blake chose to join him in this quest. Colin Firth and Benedict Cumberbatch also appear briefly in this film.

Once again, I am not a fan of war movies. This was a war movie, but it was also so much more! I am not too proud to say that I loved this war movie. I think plenty of others will feel the same way. I am still coming down from this ride!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center