New Poster for 'I, Tonya' - Starring Margot Robbie, Sebastian Stan, and Allison Janey

My first thought when I heard who was cast was wondering how in the hell they would make her look like Tonya Harding. They did a decent job of making her recognizable as Harding but still much more attractive

Probably coincidentally, there is also a Robbie in the I, Robot series, based upon a female nursing robot. I haven't seen it yet and the reference seems a just a tad glib, considering the tabloid style trashiness of the plot being pretty far-fetched from anything resembling sci-fi, but Asimov's work also portrayed a lot about the human condition and how it is simultaneously so affected by machines while so often perfectly resembling them. I won't be surprised with how intentional the title might be, especially if the film can convince me of how calculated and robotic people appear who are so determined to fame, despite so misguidedly striving to achieve greatness. It seems even poignant when considering some of the recent circumstances of our own similar reality, so maybe I should be prepared to see some retrofitted allusions to modern events.

-WwBgGcySkQeDtZhVHA7j8C-_CXifvl2q0AHqyaEARQ.jpg

Does anybody else think this movie would have benefited from having less interview footage and relied more on the strength of the linear story line? I really liked the movie but sometimes the docu-style narrative can be cheap with the emotional moments. The performances were so good I didn’t need them to tell me verbatim how they felt at that moment or what they were thinking. I thought the style was great when they were presenting conflicting accounts of the same situation but especially the Allison Janney started becoming too much of a caricature of herself that I didn’t feel as emotionally connected to her at the end of the movie as at the beginning. Maybe some information just felt redundant. Overall, really enjoyed the movie, just curious if anyone else felt the same.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now