“Let’s never waste new tears for the past” (Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds)

I don't know where I'm going to go along with this post but one thing's for sure. I'm yet to convince you to watch another film.

I'm a K-drama jerkie, a k-pop fanatic, and I kinda have this feeling I was a South Korean in my past life. But kidding aside, have you heard of the 2017 film, "Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds"?

I'm writing this with swollen eyes and runny nose, immediately after watching the 2-hr movie because I want to remember exactly how I felt while watching it. This movie isn't about the usual romantic love story that'll break your heart, nor is it about a drama about being in love and such. This is about making viewers realize the value of the 'living' life we have, and missing chances, and realize everything we've done in the 'afterlife'. I don't know if you believe in any gods or heaven and hell, or even life after death; but this movie just captured everything and immersed me the whole time I was watching it.

South Korean film makers really know how to play with your feelings. I'm not going to bore you by advertising too much and say the movie will continuously break your heart, since there's a tiny bit of comedy (and action) in it too. The lead actor, Cha Tae Hyun is famous in his fun roles in some k-series (Remember Sassy Girl? Yes that was him!), Ju Ji-Hoon is also in it too (Yaay! Oh how he has changed from Princess Hours!)

To be honest, I'm not so picky with films, I watch almost every genre except for horror and I watch films from other countries as long as there's subtitles so I can understand it. I've never had so much tears after watching Miracle in Cell No. 7 (2013), I shed some tears while watching Train to Busan (2016) too, but with this film, I guess I never stopped crying since minutes 19:03 until it ended.

Okay now back to the movie...

In the afterlife we face trials depending on the sins we did while we are alive. We have guardians, who believes in us, and stands beside us to justify our actions. Isn't that thought comforting? Even in the afterlife, we aren't left alone. What struck me the most was the last trial, when the god told the lead "I gave you 15 years (to apologize, to make a move, to correct his mistakes)". Come to think of it, how many chances have we been given? How many chances have we wasted? How many chances have we walked passed by? How many chances are we still going to wait for? How many chances are we going to waste... again?

I love movies that makes me think of how I live my life, in all aspects. And I love movies which makes me stop and think for minutes, before I move and realize that the movie is over. This is one of those films.

And one more take home from it, is that...

"Le'ts never waste new tears on the past"

PS. Watch this in movie theaters near you (if it’s still on), and if not, send me a message in private for the link! *wink

xo,
N <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center