A good horror movie to watch during the night: Sinister 2

Hello guys,

Today I just want to talk to you about a great horror film that I saw yesterday with my sister. I truly love watching horror films and this one has totally made the job: it's Sinister 2. I did not see the first one but I don't think it is really grave, it is the kind of series in which the stories are not linked. It's just that after having read the summaries of both, I was more in the mood for a horror story with children.

Sinister 2 is a movie directed by Ciaran Foy in 2015 and it's the follow-up of the first Sinister, directed by Scott Derrickson, in 2012. This movie lasts for one hour and 37 minutes and is starring Shannyn Sossamon, James Ransone, and Tate Ellington. I personally did not know them but who knows,...

#1 The plot

A young mother moves with his 9-year-old twins into a house which was formerly the theater of a macabre slaughter, to run away from her former violent husband. A former policeman (the central figure of the first movie) tries to stop the devil Bagul by destroying the buildings where passed strange murders. Knowing where will take place the next massacre, he decides to investigate the house, hoping to find answers and to stop once and for all the evil. But maybe is it already too late, Dylan (one of the twins) having already met the dead children of the haunted house...

I will not tell you any more about the plot otherwise it will not worth watching but I strongly recommend you to watch it if you are a horror film addict.

#2 My opinion

So, clearly, the story and the plot are not perfect at all. This is maybe a little simple, but if you are not picky, it totally makes the job! And because the duration of this movie is not so long, you do not have the time to get bored because of the simple story.

Another thing that I do not like is about the gore scenes. There are like maybe five scenes of familial executions that are quite extreme and quite disturbing, and personally, it just disgusts me... But I am sure a lot of people like this kind of scenes, otherwise, it wouldn't be there! I have never understood why people like that kind of things, I truly prefer it when it is like subtext but one needs for all the tastes.

During all the movie there are some good jump-scares, and it begins even in the first minutes of the movie. It was a long time ago that I have not been scared a few times in the same horror movie (except for The Visit), so at the end, I was quite happy to have watched it. The jump-scares were however quite foreseeable (like you know you have to close your eyes when a big silence arrives in the obscurity), but it has still made the job.

I find it quite different from the other movies that are releasing for the moment, like the numerous Insidious, Conjuring, Annabelle, (by the way I think this is always the same director, but maybe I'm wrong for Annabelle), during which at the end you can easily guess what is going to happen because they have all the same kind of endings, and that has always the same kind of plot.

Concerning the characters, I find that the characters played by the children are really good (especially for the one with the red hair), and apparently, some of the actors were the same that in the part one of Sinister. Maybe the mother and her lover are not as good as the others, like the former sheriff deputy is not very charismatic and you don't really have the time to develop and share feelings with them. I think this was an idea of the director to focus more the story on the children.

Probably not the best horror film you have ever seen but it still makes the job! Do not hesitate to tell me your opinions on this movie if you have already seen it or just to give me your favorite horror films! I'm running out of inspiration for horror movies. I still have to watch the first part of Sinister!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now