Movie Review: Crypto

Hey Steemians, HODLer's and crypto lovers

There was a type when crypto was hotter than anything Hanzel was wearing and modelling on the catwalk and mainstream mentions were starting to make regular appearances in TV shows and Movies but since the crypto winter no ones really cared much about the concept except the few of us who are still here waiting for things to pop off.

So when the movie Crypto was announced with superstar Kurt Russell I thought hey this could be mainstream media really taking note of what we're trying to achieve. Could it be an opportunity to educate people about the power of cryptocurrency in an entertaining way? A movie that helped normalise cryptocurrency for the average user?

That's what I was hoping for, but what we got, hmmm let's find out.

What is Crypto about?

A Wall Street banker gets sent back home to stay out of his banks obvious criminal affirs when he somehow connects a small-town art gallery to a global conspiracy, putting his own family in grave danger.

Crypto-movie-2019.jpg
Poster for crypto

What did I think of Crypto?

Let me start by saying this movie has so little to do with crypto it's actually not even a joke, its so generic they could have called it anything like The Banker or The Bank Wanker, it really didn't matter. I don't know who greenlit this script or why Kurt Russell decided to act in it, probably had some studio commitment or something. I'm not even sure why he is on the poster, he hardly features in the movie either.

The script is so generic I feel like the scriptwriters went to Google typed in crypto and used ubersuggest or some keyword tool to find related keywords and the list spit out the following

  • Mining
  • Banking
  • ICO
  • Russians
  • Money Laundering
  • Trezor waller/USB thumb drive

and they sprinkled those keywords into the script like salt bae whenever it could make sense to those who clearly have no idea what crypto is or what it's about.

The acting is so bad and so stale I found myself bursting out laughing at some dramatic points in the movie at how terrible and cringe-worthy it was, this is a straight to DVD movie at best and should be placed next to all 5 copies of sharknado, The room and Birdemic.

Trailer for Crypto

My rating for Crypto

The movie promises Kurt Russell and cyprto but what you get is a standard Russian mafia using banks to launder money, a Gilmore girl and the forgotten Hemsworth brother with anger issues. In fact now that I think of it, this movie is pretty much like any ICO promising the world with the whitepaper and shitting the bed hard with the product, so in fact it, in that regard this movie can keep its name.

This movie is no better than those gopnick Estonian ICO that were shilled by YouTubers back in 2016 and I have no choice but to give this trash 2 shitcoins out of 10.

Avoid this movie like the plague. It's an insult to its title which is a clickbait title at best.

Have your say

Have you seen the movie? What did you think of it?

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy and sell STEEMGet Daily UpvotesGet A STEEM account
blocktrades.jpgsmartvote.jpgsteemninja.jpg
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now