Honest Movie Reviews: Paranormal Activity (2007)

paranormal-activity-1.jpg

★★★★○○○○○○ [ 4/10 ]

More like "paranormal boredom":
"Paranormal Activity" is one of those movies that you either love or hate I presume. It has amassed a huge cult following over the years. But to me personally this movie just didn't deliver. It was, dare I say, the most boring movie I've ever seen. Most of the time nothing happens and you're basically just watching a couple do mundane things. I guess one could argue that it makes the movie more "realistic" in that regard. As the movie progressed the acting performances didn't quite attest to the supposed realism of the movie. What I mean by that is that there were a handful of scenes where the protagonists seemed to hold back a grin. As if they realized how ridiculous certain scenes were. Just to be fair about it; the acting wasn't the worst I've ever seen but it surely wasn't the best either. More on the weaker side of things.

The finale of the movie aka the ending did spook me with two consecutive jump scares but still. By that time I've already given up on the movie since it made me feel like I just wasted a significant amount of time (that could've been invested in a more meaningful way).

Final Verdict: "The Blaire Witch project" is apparently the only good movie that ever emerged from the "found footage" genre. Together with "The Poughkeepsie Tapes", that is. With that being said I can't exactly recommend this movie. It's too boring.

IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1179904/

Ontology: #movie #review #horror #foundfootage #lostfootage #supernatural

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center