Slow Saturday - Movie Review: The Beautiful Fantastic

I'm a bit cranky when it comes to movies. Not only do I wait for years to see some blockbuster, just to be able to answer "No, not yet" when somebody asks me if I saw the latest hype, but also I am very selective. There was a time in my life when I was literally binging on movies, and probably this filled my tanks for at least a lifetime, so if I do choose to see a movie, this usually happens for 3 reasons:

  • I am way too tired to resist the invitation (usually from @raluca and usually for a romantic comedy)
  • it's a movie I see with my kids (usually sleeping through it, if it's not too noisy)
  • the movie is really good

"The Beautiful Fantastic" falls into the third category. It's a really good movie. It's a strange melange of Amelie and Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, visually spiced with imagery reminding me of Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland.

The story could be really boring: a young aspiring writer is forced to work in a library until her masterpiece will be published. She's young and, underneath a thick layer of uncomfortable clothing and pathological shyness, beautiful. And she has a neighbor. A cranky neighbor too.

The plot thickens the moment when Bella Brown (that's the name of our aspiring writer) is visited by her landlord, who asks her to renovate the garden of the place she's renting. A task almost impossible for Bella, who, amongst her dozens phobias, also suffers from a strange form of plant phobia.

I won't spoil the good parts and I will just briefly mention the strange relationship formed between the cranky neighbor's cook and Bella, while she also experiences butterflies in her stomach for a library client, who turns out to have not one, but two identical twin brothers. And which, obviously, builds fully functional mechanical birds in his spare time.

Enjoy!



I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center