Crescent moonset over Casco

Casco.JPG

Yesterday I climbed Casco, a 13er that stands across a valley from Elbert, Colorado's highest peak. There still isn't much snow in the high country and so it was a simple matter of marching up South Halfmoon Road to Iron Mike Mine, then scrambling up to the ridgeline and from there to the summit.

On my way down I glanced back at just the right moment to catch a crescent moon setting precisely over the peak I'd just climbed. It disappeared a couple minutes after I took the photo below. (Look closely, there's a little slice of moon there.)

Casco moonset.JPG

Considering how relatively rare it must be to witness such an event, I'm taking this as a sign of good luck. I can do no wrong. I believe now is the time to dump all my savings into a highly volatile stock … or maybe cryptocurrency. :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center