Yamaha rd special order

rd50-3.png

Well that was how it arrived in the last month or so.

But with a blank cheque to write - or more an open receipt to write, and being a few £ up already, I turned my attention to detail on this one.

I am not one for hanging around if someone wants me to build them a bike, and 2 years is ridiculous, more like 2 weeks or a month is my timeline, in my head anyway, now where is that payment at the end lol.

So with the aim being to satisfy someone else, and it not costing me sexual favours, I got stuck in today.

Note most parts fitted were a trial run to see if I could get it to look like the image I had in my head, Tesla style. no drawings going on here.

DSC_0102.JPG

So I started shedding weight off it, chrome fenders and other parts, lost around 20lb in 1 hour, try that on a diet.

But the chrome at the front needed to go.

DSC_0103.JPG

Untidy wires and cables drives me crazy so they had to be hidden too.

DSC_0138.JPG

Now with me being strict on discipline that this has to be the best build I can do, I can see that seat has to go up at the front to match the lines of the tank (petrol tank, fuel cell).

Also I wanted the full shape of that tank to be viewed, it is art after all, and I am not under the pressure Yamaha had back then to have a comfy seat sitting half way up it, this is a all rules barred build lest we forget. So I changed it and fitted a rubber spacer.

DSC_0137.JPG

This is nowhere near finished, and a long way off done.

The handlebar change was for ideas, now I have a new set on the way, and even better than these.

Before I go to final paint and final build, there are still a lot of details to work out, BUT? I am liking the way it sits, just not some of the parts.

Now I have to make footrests, a alloy bracket to hold the rear of the exhaust, fit new speedo/clocks, make it meaner, make it a work of art on wheels.

I had more to say, but my head is full of ideas, & I have to go and order more parts as they are fresh in my mind. Hope you hang in there with me for the finished product once painted and put together over the next few weeks to a month.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center