Montesa cota 348 draws near a finish

DSC_0001.JPG

Afternoon.

So that photo above is the box of parts I paid for 2 1/2 months ago, it weighs 1.6kg and the shop charged me an insane 65 euros to ship it a few countries over. It was supposed to be 2 day delivery for that money, he sent it economy and pocketed 50 euros for his pleasure.

I never did get a refund from paypal, but at least I have the over priced goods, 220 euros in total for this meager amount below.

DSC_0002.JPG

  • A set of rear brake shoes.

  • A pair of mudguards or fenders if you like.

  • 4 fork seals.

So I set about measuring the holes for the rear, measure twice - drill once.

DSC_0005.JPG

So that was that done, then I went onto the front one, it needed a bracket swapping over, on the right the old one which you may note is shorter.

DSC_0008.JPG

So this meant I had to put the bracket on where I felt the mudgaurd would look best, more front or more rear.

DSC_0012.JPG

Next up was fork seals, 2 each side.

DSC_0006.JPG

To fit seals I lubricate with chain lube as it comes out in a fine spray, but settles into a grease after 20 minutes, ample time for me to tap the seals in with a rubber mallet and then a matching size socket so as not to damage them. Finishing off with a circlip to hold them in place.

Note the chain lube doing it's job.

DSC_0007.JPG

I have left them like that for today and will tomorrow finish the bike minus tank cover badges, as they are lost in the post too.

You get to see a finished bike tomorrow all the same minus the badges.

Another bike arrived and had been damaged on the front fairing nose cone by the courier, second damaged bike this week by two different couriers, not even going there explaining the argument I had with one on the phone last weekend, it was not pleasant though to say the very least.

DSC_0307.JPG

And so yesterday I managed to get a 3 minute and 36 second ride out on the KTM, almost lost the rear end a few times due to a worn back tyre, or tire, and locked it up on breaking a few times due to the same. It does stop the bike wheelying as easily, but I prefer a wheelie to both of the above so a new rear tyre will be on it before it's next run out this week, bring back the wheelie week it is. Video of mine below.

See you soon and thanks for stopping by.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center