Sepang MotoGP Test: Rossi: It'd be like a Moto3 race…

"If the race started tomorrow maybe you can see a Moto3 race!" - Valentino Rossi.

dsc_0351.gallery_full_top_fullscreen.jpg

The top twelve riders, representing four different manufacturers, were all within 0.785s on the final day of official MotoGP testing at Sepang.

Valentino Rossi believes it is almost as close in terms of race pace - suggesting that as many as eight riders could fight for victory, 'like a Moto3 race'.

After setting the eighth fastest lap time the Movistar Yamaha explained
46-valentino-rossi-ita_gp_3697.gallery_full_top_fullscreen.jpg

"In the end for the fastest lap I'm not so far - the position is not fantastic - but my pace is very good.

"I want to study the rhythm but it looks like six, seven or maybe eight riders have more-or-less the same pace. So if the race started tomorrow maybe you can see a Moto3 race!

"This is important. Can be fun. Also because anyway we are in the top group. But we know we still have to work. We have to improve."

Rossi, who has been more comfortable and more competitive on the 2016-style chassis this week, added:

"For me the bigger improvement is my feeling with the bike. I feel comfortable and also the pace. Compared to last year I've improved a lot because last year I suffer more with the degradation of the tyre."

Rossi will be back in action during MotoGP's debut at the Thailand test on February 16-18.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now