Sorry- A powerful word.

mjlgfd.jpg (pinterest.com)

Few days ago, my younger sister and I had a misunderstanding that we could have resolved within 5 minutes but it lasted for over 30 minutes just because we both felt we were right therefore neither of us felt the need to apologize.

Well, my sister got quite emotional about the fact that we were arguing and I didn’t like that so I had to apologize (she apologized too) because the value I place on our relationship as siblings is greater and bigger than my ego or pride. Almost immediately after the apologies were tendered everything went back to normal and that made me think about how powerful a word as simple and plain as sorry can be.

p381q2.jpg (pinterest.com)

A lot of people think apologizing for their wrong doings is a sign of weakness so they do not apologize whenever it is required of them so they wouldn’t be perceived as weak but in reality failure to recognize our mistakes and the need to apologize for them is the weakness.

Relationships can be made stronger or destroyed forever just because of apology I mean I know people who used to be best friends that don’t talk anymore due to fact that they refused to apologize to each other, marriages have broken forever because of ego, there are parents who do not talk to their child or children anymore. Family members that have become enemies because of issues a word like sorry could have settled.

What I am saying in essence is that apologizing doesn’t mean you are weak instead it shows that you are strong enough to swallow your pride and feel the pain of others. Solid and beautiful relationships should not be allowed to die because of pride.

Nobody is perfect so as long as we relate with other people we will hurt them every once in a while with our words or actions what really us better is the acknowledgement of our wrongs and apologizing for them when needed.

Do you find it hard to apologize?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center