An Ode to My Stepmom (Mom)


Source

Happy Sunday All! On this special day, I'd like to take a moment, a brief break from all things sports related to share with you about someone special in my life who often doesn't get the praise and recognition she deserves. Mother's Day is a special day where we can all take a moment and thank those special women in our lives that have sacrificed so much over the years to make us the people we are today.

My stepmom (and honestly she is another mom to me, the "step" really is not needed), is a very determined, strong-willed, and intelligent person. Of course, it just wouldn't be right if I didn't raz her a little bit as well, so I do need to mention that she is a firery red-head lol, and there is nothing wrong with that. All though, growing up, that made for some interesting head-butting instances, because I'm an oldest sibling, and am pretty opinionated myself lol. Of course, when we are teenagers and going off to college in our late teens and early 20s, we think we know it all, and I was no different. Looking back many years later, I can certainly appreciate all that she has done for my brother and I, and my little sister over the years.

She is one of 12 children, yes 12! So she got to understand the concepts of hard work, sacrifice, and compromise at a young age. She instilled those values in us growing up, and they have provided some of the foundation that have made us all who we are today. My younger brother is a successful businessman and we all couldn't be more proud of him, and my little sis is about to graduate high school and head off to college in the fall, and she is such good kid (sorry sis, young lady) we all couldn't be more proud of her as well.


Source

As my sister prepares for the next step in her life, the "nest" will soon be "empty" for the first time. I know deep down she's not sure what she's going to do when there are no more practices, no more concerts, and no more sporting events to have to drive to. I hope she can kick-back and relax and reflect on the fact that she has been a very successful parent that has raised her daughter with an immense plethora of talents and ideals that will carry her far in life. That she raised two boys just like they were her very own and made many sacrifices over the years to help them be able to succeed as they grew older. So, mom, - I want you to relax today and make sure dad and sis take good care of you - put them both to work! (Which believe me, she won't have any trouble doing haha - sorry got raz you a little bit!)

She's a truly selfless woman, who puts her family, her community, her faith, and her friendships before herself constantly. She's been very involved in all of the above, and has no problem dedicating her time to helping others. She's faithful, opinionated, but not rigid, and can openly converse about a wide-range of topics without trying to force her views as being absolute. She likes to stay informed on all of the topics in the world, she has far more influence with those that look to her, than she will probably ever know, and that's fine because she rarely seeks recognition, even though she is very much deserving of it. And man, she is one hell of a cook, baker, and gardener. Her garden is beautiful and filled yearly with wonderful abundance, just like her never-ending giving, and her pies are quite possibly the best in the world, and if you don't believe me, just ask my dad, or any of her six brothers and they will let you know - by the way, my favorite is banana cream, but honestly, that's like trying to pick your favorite M&M out of the candy box, they're all so good, it's kind of hard to pick just one!

So, on this special day of the year, when we take time out to thank those special women in our lives, I'd like to thank her for always being there, for being such a standup, positive influence for our family over the years, and for just being the person she is. I know you probably, haven't heard it near enough over the years, especially from your two stubborn boys, (and probably more recently from your teenage daughter lol), but we all thank you from the very bottom of our hearts, and appreciate you more than you will ever realize, but hopefully these few words helped to do a little justice to how wonderful a mom you are. In closing, a Very Happy Mother's Day and a resounding THANK YOU for being the person you are, now kick back, relax, (which believe me is challenging for her to do lol - my dad and I can play some golf and then kick back and watch the baseball game, and that's a perfect day for us lol, but she's got to keep going at all times lol) and reflect on all that you've done for us over the years and know that you are greatly appreciated! ♡


Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now