Dear Mom

I never realized how amazing my mom truly was for a long time. It's funny how that happens. Yesterday someone asked me who my role model was. It only took me a few seconds to reply my mom.20190214_120257-1.jpg My mom didn't have the easiest life especially in college. She worked three jobs and more to pay for her tuition. She also lived on watered down tomato soup back then. What amazed me most about my mom though was her perseverance. It is something that couldn't help but spill over into my life. I was homeschooled. She was my teacher in so many ways throughout my life. Honestly, being homeschooled by a former Mathematics teacher had its ups and downs. I didn't think Math was important as a kid. But the older I got, the more I appreciated knowing how to balance a checkbook earlier on in life. Of course, those weren't the only things I was taught. My mom prayed for me always, and listened to me without judging me. Sometimes we didn't see eye to eye. Humans have a way of disagreeing of course. However, I knew that I could rely on her to listen to me. We goofed off. We traveled together. She was there for me during my divorce, and helped me with my kids. But what I'd like to tell you are the secrets that she shared with me. They weren't always secrets or pearls of wisdom from her lips. Sometimes, they were simply actions she did. First she taught me, be kind always. Second, being honest was important no matter if the truth was hard or hurt sometimes. Third, be generous and compassionate. That's a hard one sometimes for me. Fourth, you can accomplish anything you put your mind to. Lastly, sometimes you have to let people's opinions of you roll off. There are so many things I could tell you about my mom. She spoke several different languages, wrote poems, sang opera to us. But those aren't what's truly important. The things that are was the love, compassion, and generosity I witnessed. I Watched her trying to cheer other patients going through Chemo with her. She cheered me up while I was working and going to college. Then she reminded me to stop and smell the roses occassionally. She cracked jokes with her hospice nurses, and gave them christmas gifts. She prayed for people while she was going through hospice.20190214_115527-1.jpg

Dear Mom,
It is your birthday in a few weeks. Even though you're not here anymore. Thank you. Thank you for being a persevering spirit. Thank you for all the days of support. Thank you for your prayers. Thanks for being you.
Love,
Your Daughter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center