When the Sun Shines in Azemmour

The warm weather we've had recently is giving those of us still locked down in Morocco a serious case of cabin fever. It's hard to live directly beside the sea and not venture outside to swim in it. Then we look at our phones and find photos of better times that still feel fresh, and that just makes it worse. But this lockdown can't last forever, so I thought I would share a glimpse of some things my good friend @michelios and I have to look forward to once we're free to move around again.

Not long ago, we took advantage of a sunny day to walk our dogs Milo and Joma to the beach. To get there, we followed a path through the forest, just outside the medina alongside the Oum Rabia River.

The Oum Rabia is 55 km long and originates in the Khénifra mountain from the Middle Atlas. It opens into the Atlantic Ocean right here at Azemmour. It is a very popular recreation spot but also a way of life for some. Below are some photos of local fishermen using a traditional technique.

As a team, they spread their net, then coordinate to trap the fish against the bank. Unfortunately, their first attempt had a ... disappointing result. But it would take more than one bad cast to discourage these hungry fellows from dinner.

That was also the day we found a very singular pebble. It was striped with parallel lines, which Michel and I suspect are geological strata, with each line representing a recurring event. But who knows. I would be very interested in the opinion of a geologist about this rock. I'm also interested in what other Hivers think. Do you have an opinion? Tell me in the comments. I'd love to hear your ideas.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now