The morgenseiten of Katharsisdrill 28 - news and politics

Long time since I last wrote one of these. I have not been posting much lately, the idea that I should post every day and earn at least the 100% vote I would give myself has been routed by an army of other things, most of them new routines to keep me fit for fight. And then I am again back to finishing one page each week (Thursday) of my comic, which has been one of my biggest goals.

But the projects and things I should do, and would like to do is really piling up. It is not a new thing, I always had this slightly manic way of working, and I am not really stressed about it, it has been like that for as long as I can remember, and I know how to shrug off the things I do not get to do. But in order to do as much as possible I have developed some guidelines to give myself as much time as possible, and avoid the stupidest ways of procrastination (in Danish we say overspringshandlinger - skipping actions.)

  • no computer games (sometimes I play a bit if I like as I am very good at not playing computer games)
  • no TV (we never had one, but today the computer is a TV)
  • no news (except things I didn't know anything about already which is surprisingly little. News seems to revolve arond the same dramas all the time.)
  • no political discussions on the internet!

Recently I have broken two of these rules. I have followed the Swedish election, mostly in the Swedish papers, and it it went disappointingly much like it was prophesied in the polls, with all the political predicaments predicted.

I also wrote a short post as a reaction to the chaos in the White House which led to a large discussion of economy... which was not the topic at all. At least my understanding of the US economy is honed a bit, but the overall impression is the same: It is still an old, badly maintained supertanker going full throttle.

I have promised myself to abstain from Swedish newspapers and economy for the next long time.


My friend @shortcut has started to write some posts every morning - #morgenseiten he calls it - morning-pages. Here is his explanation of the project:

It goes like this: you shall each morning write from the soul, anything going through your head.

He writes a lot more, but this is the essence :) (Read his first morgenseiten post here)

I have decided to try the same. I write from the top of my head every morning or late morning if I have been sleeping late. I only correct typos and make a headline afterwards. Else everything is left as written. Expect some of it to sound like stage directions.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center