Retro: Mongolia

Yes, that place between Russia and China. Land of... beef? Not really, I saw (and rode and ate) many more horses than cows. With a population of only 3 million, a national currency that isn't traded on the global markets and a brutal Winter season, Mongolia is definitely a peculiar place.

I hopped on a MIAT (state ran airlines) flight from Seoul to the country's capital and population center Ulaanbaatar. Oh by the way, these folks as a whole love and honor Chinggis Khaan International Airport. Their airport's name is Chinggis Khaan International Airport with murals of him inside, it's pretty legit.

The mountains which are cold and rocky looked more like sand the closer we got, it was quite a sight on approach.

I was met with an extremely uneasy welcome from the 100 taxi drivers who all want to take you somewhere. And I mean you, because they don't get a lot of tourists. Just be prepared for that if you decide to make the trip someday.

After getting to my hotel (only one or two western-style ones in the city, likely not many more in the entire country), this felt much better. I got plenty of Tughriks from the ATM at the airport, so I'm good on cash for now. Hotel was nice, staff friendly and many the city looked... Mongolian? I'm not sure what I was expecting.

Oh yeah, and wild dogs running around everywhere. It's a thing.

I got settled in my room and took a look out the window. Is homely the right word?

The first thing on my mind though was finding a place the serves a delicasy in Mongolia: horse. Not the regular horses you see people racing on TV or on farms or in enchanting cities for tourists, but Mongolian horses. I found a place and got a taxi there. It did not disappoint.. greasy, but tender. Quite tasty actually, sort of like beef with a wildish tang.

Now I visited in the Fall, November time frame. The pollution gets really bad in the winter due to so many of the people still living the Nomadic lifestyle and burning coal in their yurts. It wasn't too bad when I was there, though. The weather, however, was dry and very cold. I bundled up quite a bit before heading out that morning for walk around town.

There's a yurt to your left now.

Very poor looking streets even in the nicer areas of the capital.

I wandered downtown and this was by far the nicest shopping place. I picked up some nice cashmere items for Mrs. Travels and family around here as well.

And if you like milk-milk, you might try some goat milk. At least it's good for your skin, maybe?

The writing really reminds me of Cyrillic.

The next day, I headed out on a day tour. They picked me up at my hotel in the morning, met with my guide and driver and we headed out. First stop, a huge pile of rocks and some more wild (but harmless) dogs.

The sun was shining so bright that day, yet it was still well below freezing. People make sacrifices by throwing objects into the pile.

I believe over there in the distance you can see some Trans Siberian Railway tracks as there is a stop in Ulaanbaatar.

Now to some other sites, like temples and such.

It took us a while to get up those steps and this mountain.

Now for some lunch in a more permanent, yet still portable-style yurt by a local host. I'm hungry.

Oh, save me coffee. Warm me up, mind and body. Bread, carrots and soup. Anything hot is good really.

Little communities like this all over.

Now to visit a local house and enjoy a snack there as well.

The Mongol people's distinguishing features are quite unique. They literally look a little Russian and a little Chinese. Makes sense I guess.

How about a horseback ride? Lessons today will be given by this 14 year old boy who lives around here. He spoke about 5 words of English. Quite an experience going out on a ride with him!

Turtle rock! Naturally formed and quite a beauty.

Camel rides anyone? Yep!

Oh, and I learned one word in Mongolian: Bayarlalaa!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center