Small Savings Wins: Good Habits Mount Up for Early Retirement!

So I took a walk to do some recycling early Monday morning, this is part of my every now and then not quite routine.....

The glass recycling bank is a 20 minute walk along the river, at Sainsburies, and if you do it early enough it's quite peaceful, and good to get some steps in on non-run days, and one can pick up a croissant in le supermarche for £1.00 which I did.

En route back I was contemplating getting a coffee to go with it, knowing full-well that I was going to be heading out later that day to buy my daily latte on the way to the co-working space.

I really fancied a take-out that morning but I resisted as TWO take-out coffees a day is MENTAL....

The maths...

£4 for a latte, now let's multiply this based on some future scenarios...

Screenshot 2024-10-21 at 21.46.25.png

I'm going straight into the 8 year scenario, as that's roughly when I reach my first pension age, my current savings goal.

  • If I forgoe ONE extra coffee a week, or 4 a month for 8 years, that saves me £1344
  • If I forgoe TWO extra coffees a week for 8 years, that's a £2500 saving....

That's basically how I look at these things....

That's an entire MONTH of living expenses, nearer 1.5 months actually just by resisting that urge ONCE A WEEK for 8 years.

The even more rational option...

That £10K figure is the cost of a daily latte for 8 years...

Man, I should revisit this giving up coffee lark, for sure!

It is just NOT WORTH IT!!!

I'm gonna buy me a decent flask and just switch to the black stuff.

PS Those aren't even OAT LATTES!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center