Misfortunes

So I jumped on a bad country road and bumped into the car. I slipped down an iced hill, hit the tree. I don't remember my family being worried; they seemed to understand that these mishaps were part of childhood.

Photo

Misfortunes meant I had to try again. My self-confidence increased with every victory I had against fear and physical challenges.

My mother was an exception. According to a study published last year in the journal The Journal of Pediaric Psychology, parents tend to warn four girls more caution when it comes to accidents that are not life-threatening but lead to an emergency.

It seems a logical warning; however, this is a disadvantage, and scientists emphasize this: Girls may be more hesitant in experimenting with different physical activities that are important in acquiring new skills.

Photo

This research reveals a troubling reality: We believe that our girls are both physically and emotionally more fragile.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
How to earn more on Steemit.

Some tips how you can earn more on Steemit.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now