Invitation: My Screening Oct. 30 / Reactions to my Star Tribune Story

"Then I read the comments..."

Uh oh. We know how this usually goes. Reading the comments of an article often ends with a face like this: šŸ˜¬

It's just so easy to shoot off a knee-jerk reply in the comments. And there were plenty of these in response to my story in last Sunday's Star Tribune. But there were also some thoughtful, insightful emails that came my way from longtime Minnesotans who've invested their careers and hearts into this state.

First, though, an invitation...


Screening and Presentation for my series "home ā€¢ less" | Wed., October 30

Following the announcement of my series making the Twin Cities Film Festival, a couple of friends asked about seeing my film. The only problem: My selection was for streaming-only.

So we thought, "Why not hold a screening of our own?"

Then, a woman who lived at the very encampment this movie is about happened to reach out to say she's in recovery and has housing. Now she's going to come to this event the evening of Wed. October 30 to share her story, too.

Screening.jpg

This is a public screening of the series premiere episode (22 min.), a testimony from Courtney about breaking away from that lifestyle, and a fundraiser to support the creation of more of these life stories.

Learn more and RSVP at the Facebook event page.
Or just show up! - 7pm Wed. evening, October 30 in St. Louis Park at the Canvas Convergence art studio.

Questions? Let me know!

Speaking of replies...


The Response to "Is Minnesota in Trouble?"

I've received more emails (mostly positive) for this story than any other I've ever written for The Minnesota Star Tribune. (If the paywall is an issue, here's the archive version.)

This included an old DFLer who litigated for the Minneapolis Housing Authority and the city during the civil rights movement.

"We were Humphrey Democrats," he wrote to me, describing their politics and contrasting them with what he sees today.

Also, a retired journalism professor, who founded and wrote for several publications, shared how she grew up in north Minneapolis in the 60s.

"Iā€™ve thought about these issues for a long time," she added in her email to me.

Then, a small political group reached out about having me come speak for them next month on this topic.

These responses echo the scope of this piece looking at Minnesotaā€™s well-being over decades while hypothesizing a broader culprit: Our collective culture clashing with modern times.

But this does tie into the politics of today, which is where the knee-jerk critical responses came in hard and fastā€”accusing me of being ā€œfar-right,ā€ bringing up Trump (who the story doesnā€™t mention), etc.

Part of me wishes I hadnā€™t mentioned politics, but it is interrelated with this culture clash. So I just really appreciated those avoiding the knee-jerk reactions on the surface and viewing the broader ideas presented for how we can better proceed as a state.

I was so taken by some of these emails, I made a video about them along with more about the ideas of this story:


I look forward to seeing those who can make it to my screening, especially in support of Courtney and her example of someone who freed herself from the trap of that "home ā€¢ less" lifestyle.

-Brandon

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center