Cleaning Sapphire Tri-X Fans

A mundane part of mining but never the less, a job that needs to be done if you want to be successful mining, you will need to clear the dust if you're air cooling.

Unhealthy GPU Condition

image
(This dust and micro particle composition has completely ruined one of the 3 Tri-X fans.)

This is what atrocious fans look like, I hope you never have fans thus dirty ever, it's about 6 months of slacking that lead up to this. I have well over recovered the value of the R9 cards.

image

Using pressured air, tweezers, 99% Isopropyl, and Q-tips I managed to clean the fans to the point I should be able to use them again.

After air spraying as many crevices as you can, remove the fans and scrape and residue stuck on the fans with the tweezers gently to avoid damaging the vulnerable hydraulic bearing on the fan. After all visible particle has been 95% removed, air spray once more.

The last step is using the Isopropyl and the Q-tips to clean any remaining residue that you can see on the fan area and try to not touch the Border any metal.

image

I have 2 R9 cards to clean and I hope this first one was the worst. It took me about 30 minutes per fan to clean effectively with proper care and I see this as highly inefficient. I am in the belief that air duster is just barely sufficient to complete this task.

After all the time it took, I may just order new fans kn the future everytime I need to clean them and save the old ones for back up.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now