Mining with Nicehash again ... should I invest in a second GPU ?

After I undervolted my GPU, I'm now mining at less than 1 Euro costs per day.
I got some ZDASH (soon to be renamed) sitting at suprnova, but I can't be bothered to test out the wallet now.
I didn't realize, that you can't mine directly to cryptopia.co.nz ...

It made a nice little jump yesterday and sells at $0.136858.
I'll let that sit at suprnova for now and try to figure out the wallet later this week.

So I downloaded Nicehash's latest version again to earn some more BTC.

equihash is paying well:

That's a lot more than I can make from mining ZDASH directly.

I'm so tempted to buy a second card, even though it's very likely not going to be very cost-effective to do so.
It would be more energy efficient, though.

  1. My PSU would be closer to 50% utilization.
    That's supposed to be the sweet spot for efficiency.
  2. I have a fixed consumption of 40 Watt just from running the machine.
    With a second card that wouldn't change much, so I'd half my net costs with a second GPU.

I ordered the risers and once they arrive, I hope to find a cheap offer.
I should have bought the RX 470 when it was a Christmas special (150 Euro).

Now the freshly released RX 570 and RX 580 sell at the exact same price as the 470 and 480.
They are pretty much the same cards. Just the TDP of the RX5xx is higher.
That's exactly not what I want.

If I bought a RX 470 at 200 Euros, I would reach my ROI after around 200 days at the current rates.
That's such a tight calculation, though !

I think, the latest rise in payouts for equihash is because miners are trying to squeeze out as much ETH as they can before POW stops. Even though ZCASH rose a lot the last days, that doesn't fully explain why equihash gets paid so well.
The day Ethereum switches to POS, a ton of hashpower will jump onto other altcoins.
Mainly equihash.

When I order a second card I can't use the excuse anymore, that I would have used it for gaming anyways.
Who needs two cards ?

By buying the 5xx series I might have a higher value, if I want to resell it in the future.

If only my costs for electricity were lower.

I can't really decide ...

What do you think ?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center