Thankful: Why everyone should be grateful: part 1

Thank you for taking out time to read my first post on Steemit. I am grateful beyond what words can express. Thank you so much.

I want to share with you my experience with a military veteran turned part time Lyft driver. Just to be clear, he rivers Lyft not for the money, but to avoid growing old too fast.

About two days ago, I booked a ride from my house to place of work and fortunately, I had the privilege of riding with a veteran who served in the United States Marines for 25 years (1980 - 2005). Notable amongst his experience; He was in Iran during the early post Iranian revolution era as part of the team preparing the ground works for the US Army and he was part of training team for the marine troops going into Iraq in 2003.

Our conversation started a little more than 5 minutes from pick up time when he recounted his military experience and how lucky he was to have been able to reach 25 years of service before retiring and that the government is responsible for him and the welfare of his kids. He did also say, he gets paid more than enough but he had to this to avoid getting bored of home.

Later on in the conversation, he told me how the government never takes care of veterans as opposed to what we see in the media then I asked him, "but you just told me of how much care you get from them" and he said that's because he retired after 25 years.

I'd continue this once i get the chance to

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now