Memoir Monday #29 - How would you describe your parents' relationship?

Greetings my dear friends, especially to the members of SilverBloggers community. Another assigned task by @ericvancewilson for #memoirmonday

How would you describe your parents' relationship?

Thanks to Almighty, as I was a part of my wonderful family. Like in every family my parent's too had several ups and downs. Coming from two different backgrounds means their decisions, opinions and overall outlooks vary.

My Dad was the decision-maker at home. A very stern person in his 40's and 50"s, several times I have seen mom listening patiently to whatever he says. Infact, he was the best decision maker.

Most often me and my two siblings would ask Mom, why always you say "yes" and not "no" Sometimes his anger was at the peak. Though then, I never understood, now I could. She was afraid it might affect us, if she raise her voice or if the answer was no. Because hs childhood upbrinong was so tough, Probably, he had a tough life. Money being the main criteria in his large family.

Apart from all this, he was a very responsible husband and a father. He used to get most of our things done in his meagre income, but then he used to remind us always "study well, so that you stand in your own feet". Probably his life experience made him say so. And the best determined lesson we learnt from my dear Dad.

In his dictionary, when it comes to work it was always do it today and not keep it for tommorow. I still remember when filling the application for my college admission, I had some doubts which I thought I will clear it in the coming days. But he made sure, I submit the application the same day. That .was he. And from the corner of the eye, I noticed my mother standing helpless.

Today, when I look back I firmly believe we siblings have more of his positiveness and mom's calmness.

Money plays a very important role in our lives. As my father's income for a month was cleared by paying our education fees, house rent, electricity bills, water bills, newspaper, and other groceries etc. my parent's had no demands or no wishes. They used to cut short their necessities, so that other things go on smoothly. This was the another great lesson from them.

That was the reason when we got a job,we siblings decided to give them the best. It might be either in the form of sweets or any of their favourite items.

My father said to us, "when we .were young, we had money only to meet our immediate needs but now when we had enough money, we are not even able to taste our favourite dishes due to several illness" . That's the sad truth of life.

Now, in their 80's they lead a peaceful life with little health issues. My father is our guide until now, correcting and punishing us whenever necessary.

Thankyou for your visit. Have a wonderful friday. The photos captured are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center