My 1st attempt at hosting a steemit promo-night. A 90% failure but a 100% success.

STEEM BEESTON.png

Screenshot-2018-4-12 Horse Water Images · Pixabay · Download Free Pictures(1).png
You can take a horse to water, but you damn sure can not make the stubborn sod take a drink. This is how it felt last night, as all the people in the pub trotted off upstairs for some amateur theatre night. Ironically, what I had to say that night would no doubt be of much use to a theatre company. We all know that amateur theatre is ran on a shoe-string and I am sure that a theatre company would be more than welcomed/rewarded, by the steemit community.

I suppose it makes no difference at the end of it all. The night has past and they had better things to be doing on a Wednesday evening. If I am honest, it was a slight relief. When I passed the car park before entering the pub, the sight of a full car-park(and Pub) was slightly daunting.

I may come across as someone with a lot of confidence, but 90% of it is just there to convince myself. I was bricking it!
DSC_0407.jpg
The carpet in my living room has a path trodden in it from all the pacing and the kettle was boiled so many times, it was as if the BFG has come for tea. Hours and hours of Dtube vids about steemit.com, crypto-currencies and Blockchain technology, yet it felt as if I knew nothing... What the fudge was I doing?!

A WORTHY CAUSE


Screenshot-2018-4-12 Perseverance Images · Pixabay · Download Free Pictures.png
I trust my instincts and everything is telling me that steemit.com is the right path for me to take.

I adore some of the communities on here and the way this site encourages good content and participation should be highly regarded.

For me, joining up to steemit is a complete no-brainer. A completely risk free way of investing in the crypto-market and one that isn't been flogged to you by some salesman in a cheap shiny suit.

I was asked by one of the few who did turn up, exactly what my angle was in all this and what was in it for myself....

This was a question I had hoped to receive and it gave me great pleasure in telling him that I was doing this off my own back and it was something that was common amongst steemians, in other parts of the country/world. It didn't take him long to realise what I meant and as this question had been fired off at the beginning of the night, it left us all with plenty of time to crack-on with business.
banner long 1.jpg
I was expecting a crowd of complete noobs, but after we had all chatted for a while it became apparent that my esteemed guests were already half way there. One had invested £700 of his own cash, after being advised by a work colleague. Their was a young couple who had asked the earlier question. They had friends who had invested, but hadn't yet gone any further than the looking in from afar. There was also the Land-lord of the pub, Sergio. He was quite familiar with cryptocurrencies and loves to tear holes in mainstream narratives. Sergio was one of many Europeans who have settled in the UK, but yet posted a leave vote at the Brexit referendum. A very wise man, indeed.

So in total their was a crowd of 4, plus my Mum(For 20 minutes before her brain melted), my wonderful Daughter and 2 of my friends
(The last 3 having no interest in crypto, or steemit and in some cases you have to see that this will never change).

Haha! That was all about to change (100% success, remember ;)

A common factor running between everyone there, was a love for music, 2 of them even played instruments. Time to break out the big-guns and go into this blazing! This may be a small audience and one that has disappointed a few readers, but we play the cards we are dealt and make the best of it. If I could get these 3 people to join steemit, then each of them might get 3 more people to join and so on and so on... Not all was lost.
Screenshot-2018-4-13 Sowing Seeds Images · Pixabay · Download Free Pictures.png
As the young couple had other interest and they were all wanting to get a good idea of what was about to be described, I thought I would start them off with this video.

It was my intention to let them know that crypto and steemit aren't as unknown as they may have thought and it has the potential to lure big names to the website. As I have said all along, I am using the techniques of the infamous psychologist, Edward Bernays. It was he who was the first to suggest using "Celebrities" to endorse consumer products, in order to sell them to the public. This is the same reason I had chosen to use Joe Rogan as my wing-man. Joe is charismatic, contemporary, intelligent, "woke" and gave the perfect reaction...
(I had to let out a wry smile, when one of them excitedly burst out with "Oh yeah, I know this guy. He's from the UFC")


Screenshot-2018-3-8 Help futuremind get Joe Rogan onto steemit — Steemit.png
After showing this video, everyone was leaning a little further forward... They where hooked and the questions that kept coming were hard to keep up with. 3 of these folk were all 10 -15 years younger than me, so when they began mentioning other sites that steemit reminded them of. It was great to hear them talk of these obsolete sites and then marvel at how steemit had somehow managed to combine the best parts from each of them. From this moment on, the night turned into more of a night out with your mates. We looked at all manner of profiles and then spoke about the wallet, bots, etiquette, competitions, how important the "Introduction-post" is, voting and not getting whooped by a whale! 🚩 😰

Then onto my favourite part, which is the communities on steemit.😍


tiger.PNG
I had every intention of making most of this part about my beloved @familyprotection, but as the audience were still in their youth and all without children, it seemed a more productive choice to just give @fp a gleaming introduction and use them as an example of the heart that beats inside steemit. It was a shame for this to have been the case, but there will always be other nights like this and the crowds will start to grow. Our time will come, but for now it was time to highlight other parts of steemit.com, ones that were more appropriate for my musically talented audience.

sma banner.png


Screenshot-2018-3-5 discord - Google Search.png
This was the moment when heads began to explode. After going through the various chat rooms and having a quick listen to a few of the steemian who had created music, collaborated, started their own radio shows, tutorials, oh my god!! Look at the time!!!! It was 10:00pm and we had been chatting away for 2 hours, which seemed like 10 minutes to me. At this point it was time for our young couple to make their way home. I did take some time for them to finally leave as every time we said goodbye, one of us remembered something important to say. Eventually, we all swapped contact details and I promised to put on another info-night, soon. They both said they had friends who would have enjoyed this nights discussions and promised to bring them along to the next one 😉

So now you see what I mean, when I said "90% failure but 100% success" There may have been a fraction of the people turned up who I had expected to attend, but those who did turn up all went away with a smile and a handful of magic beans 🌱 All without any beef! 🐄

bea.png


https://smartsteem.com?r=article61

Screenshot-2018-4-13  steembasicincome.png
SBI Discord channel
bannerart.jpg

Pictures sourced from pixabay.com or are my own property, unless otherwise stated
Joe Rogan - source

SMA - source

Discord - source

Family Protection - source

Joe Rogan Vid source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center