[The various types of Medication administration] Im a nursing student. Lol

Just a nursing student trying to pass on and retain knowledge. #2

I guess, number two. Lol It naturally came out when I began this post, so that's what it will be. As a nurse I will be expected to administer medications on a daily basis, in all forms and fashions. So I figured what better way to retain it, than sharing it with you guys here.


Types of Medication administration:

Oral -

Taken by mouth/anything swallowed.

Sublingual-

Dissolved under the toungue.

Baccal-

Dissolved between the gums and the cheeck.

Rectal-

Inserted into the Rectum.

Vaginal-

Inserted into the Vagina.

Occular-

Placed in the eye.

Otic-

Place in the ear.

Intravenous-

Injected into the body.

Nasal-

Sprayed into the nose.

Inhalation-

Inhaled into the lungs.

Transdermal-

Applied and absorbed through the skin.


Some of these should be pretty fun, when the time comes. Lol I will probably end up breaking down each one of these administration routes in future posts. Wayyyy too much to include in a single post.

Thanks for reading my post! If you liked it, upvote it. Follow me @intrepidthinker

Here are some of my recent posts.


Recommended content:

@matt-a, @robrigo, @kotturinn, @tommyinthesun, @modernnomad, @aprilwyatt, @broester, @sid-the-kid

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center