Imperfect Marriages

I saw a very old man and his wife today trying to cross the road, they held each other and with a great smile on their faces they both crossed the road and then it inspired me to write this post.

Looking at the high rate at which so many marriages fail and the increasing level of divorce in our society at a point in my life I wondered if people still had long lasting marriages, I looked all around me and everyone was either divorced or either staying in an unhappy marriage because of pride,reputation and some of them because they do not want their child or children to suffer.

I wanted to just see an happy marriage that will change my mindset about married people, I wanted to see a marriage that will be perfect and without stress, a marriage where the both parties will respect each other, a marriage where everything will work out just fine, but even the ones who look happy from the outside are going through a lot of terrible situations inside.

There was a day I retired to my room to sleep during one of my visit to my Aunt's place and I heard this couple who usually held hands outside, this couple who will make you feel jealous and make you feel like getting married at that very moment,but this night was different as I started hearing noises and I payed close attention to hear what they were saying, I could hear the husband say; I pay the kid's school fee and the wife said; didn't I buy the chairs and their school uniform, I was shocked to have heard something like that from this amazing couple, but what shocked me the most was when I heard the husband say; I am even tired of you, I have just been managing you all this while.
The wife quickly replied and said: So you can now say you are tired of me, when I left so many important and wealthy people to just be with you, after all the sacrifices I made for you, now because you have little money you are tired of me.
I didn't want to hear more I covered my head with my blanket and shut my eyes tight. This were the couple that were even making me think twice about my decision to either get married or not and now they are not even perfect either.

But my question is that, are all marriages filled with so much pain and bitterness and why?

Is it a norm to just begin to dislike the person you claim to have loved once and promised heaven and earth to?

Thank you so much for reading.

Image source 1

Image source 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center